Feb 18 2011

European Poker Awards Results

written by: Will under News Comments: Comments Off

The European Poker Awards were held in Paris, France last weekend, and Jake Cody of the UK took home the awards for both Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year. This marks the 10th annual hosting of the European Poker Awards.

Cody established himself as one of the hottest new names in competitive poker in 2010, a year that saw him win the Main Events at both the European Poker Tour Deauville in January and the World Poker Tour London in August. Cody also received a nomination in the category of Outstanding Tournament Performance, though that award ultimately went to James Bord, also of the UK.

In the category of Player of the Year, Cody beat out nominees Sam Trickett of England, Theo Jorgensen of Denmark and Vladimir Schemelev of Russia. Rookie of the Year nominees included Fernando Brito of Portugal, Julian Herold of Germany, Toby Lewis of England and David Vamplew of Scotland.

Ironically, Cody was not actually present at the event, as he was playing the High Roller event at UKIPT Nottingham. Cody won the event to take home 42,000 GBP, and Simon Trumper accepted Cody’s two awards on his behalf. Here’s wishing Cody a bright 2011 to match his stunning 2010.

The full results of the 2010 European Poker Awards are listed below:

Player of the Year: Jake Cody of England
Rookie of the Year: Jake Cody of England
Internet Player of the Year: Andreas Torbergsen of Norway
Poker Staff Person of the Year: TK Events’ Gerard Serra Retamero of Spain
Europe’s Leading Lady: Liv Boeree of England
Outstanding Tournament Performance: James Bord of England
Rob Gardner Memorial Award (Best Poker Personality): Tony Guoga of Lithuania
Lifetime Achievement Award: Nic Szemetera

Nic Szemetara, it should be noted, was the lead organizer of Late Night Poker, the top-rated television show that popularized the Hole Card Cam. Szemetera is also Poker Player Magazine’s former editor.

Comments Off - Click Here to Speak Up