Mar 2 2011

Carlos Mortensen leads star-studded WPT final table in LA

written by: Steve under News Comments: Comments Off

With a final 18 players that included some of the biggest names in poker, it came as little surprise that the final table for the 2011 WPT LA Poker Classic would include a former WSOP Main Event champion in Carlos Mortensen; a former Online Player of the Year in Brunson 10 member Steve ‘gboro780’ Gross; and a former WPT champion in Vivek Rajkumar. Not to mention talented tournament player Darryll Fish, and two experienced players in Greg Brooks and Amir Lehavot.

Mortensen will take a slim chip-lead over Rajkumar into the final table, but will probably not care for his seating assignment as Rajkumar will be on his immediate left –although Mortensen has Steve Gross on his immediate right, so it seems Gross got the real short-end of the stick!

Here is a look at the final table seat assignments and chip counts for the LAPC Main Event:

·    Seat 1: Vivek Rajkumar — 5,185,000
·    Seat 2: Darryll Fish — 2,275,000
·    Seat 3: Gregory Brooks — 2,300,000
·    Seat 4: Amir Lehavot — 4,115,000
·    Seat 5: Steve Gross — 1,320,000
·    Seat 6: Carlos Mortensen — 5,235,000

The players will receive a much needed day off on Wednesday, before returning to the Commerce Casino on Thursday at 4PM PDT to crown a champion. However they finish, each player is guaranteed over $230,000 for making it this far, with the winner taking home over $1.6 million in prize-money.

Comments Off - Click Here to Speak Up