Jan 21 2012

David Gorr and Jason Gray inducted into Australian Poker Hall of Fame

written by: Steve under News Comments: Comments Off

The inductees for the 2012 Australian Poker Hall of Fame were revealed on Thursday, and it will be two longtime veterans of the Australian poker scene who will join the other legends of Aussie Poker in the APHOF: 2011 Aussie Millions winner David Gorr, and 2007 Victoria Poker Championships winner Jason Gray.

Both men have over $1 million in career tournament earnings; with Gorr winning well above that amount for his Aussie Millions Championship last year, and both have spent the vast majority of their poker careers in Australia.

Like the Poker Hall of Fame, the APHOF has a certain set of criteria that a player must live up to before being inducted:

  • Be a current or former residents of Australia or New Zealand
  • Have demonstrated outstanding and extended service to the game, bringing credit to Australian Casino Tournament Poker and/or
  • Have displayed significant player excellence.

Gorr and Gray were blindsided by the induction, with Gorr admitting to finding about it only five minutes before the honor was bestowed on him! The two join Australian poker legends like Joe Hachem, Jeffrey Lisandro, and Tony G in the APHOF. Here is a look at all of the inductees to the APHOF over the years:

2009 Inaugural Class:

  • Joe Hachem
  • Antanas “Tony G” Gouga
  • Jeffrey Lisandro
  • Lee Nelson
  • Billy “The Croc” Arygos
  • Mel Judah
  • Gary Benson
  • Maury Pears

2010 Class:

  • Marsha Waggoner

2011 Class:

  • Leo Boxell
  • Danny McDonagh

2012 Class:

  • David Gorr
  • Jason Gray




Comments Off - Click Here to Speak Up