May 15 2011

EPT announces winners of Season 7 Awards

written by: Steve under News Comments: Comments Off

During the EPT Grand Finale tournament series that recently concluded in Madrid, Spain, there was a brief respite from the action as the EPT took the festivities to the Pascha Nightclub in Madrid to announce the winners of the Season EPT Awards.

The one award that was known beforehand was the Player of the Year Award, which would be going to the 52 year-old Portuguese poker pro Fernando Brito, who turned in one of the best year’s in the history of the European Poker Tour, despite not winning a major title!

The POY award winner was in question until Brito finished the EPT Grand Final Main Event in 37th place, locking up the award regardless of who won the tournament. According to Card Player Magazine Europe, Brito told the crowd: “We can only sing victory when it’s achieved, so I didn’t believe I had won until yesterday when I cashed in the Grand Final Main Event. I am very thankful to my family and friends – I couldn’t have done this without them. Now I’m going to try to do it again next season!”

In addition to Brito’s POY Award, seven other awards were handed out that were voted on by fans, as well as a panel of selected media personalities and players. Here are the other winners:

·    EPT Omaha Player of the Year: Dario Alioto
·    EPT Mixed Game Player of the Year: Matthew Ashton
·    EPT Heads-Up Player of the Year: Diogo Veiga
·    EPT Country of the Year: Ireland
·    EPT Online Qualifier of the Year: Martin Jacobson
·    EPT Achievement of the Year: Max Heinzelmann
·    EPT Players’ Choice Award: Max Heinzelmann

Comments Off - Click Here to Speak Up